beninnature

#BenInNature

Social distancing can be difficult, but it presents a great opportunity to become reacquainted with nature! While he is working from home, Administrator of Science Ben Williams is venturing outdoors each day to record a snapshot of the unique sights that can be found in the natural world.  Each article in this series, titled "#BenInNature", is originally posted on the museum's Facebook page and archived here on the museum website.

Please note:  When you click "See More" on any of the below articles, you will be re-directed to the museum's Facebook page, but you do not need an account nor do you need to be logged into Facebook to see the post in its entirety.  Of course, if you are not yet following the VMNH Facebook page, we highly encourage you to do so!


Post Archive


Wednesday, April 22, 2020BenInNature Image Collage
Conopholis americana, also known as cancer root, squaw root, or bear corn

Tuesday, April 21, 2020
The eastern newt Notophthalmus viridescens

Monday, April 20, 2020
Dryocampa rubicunda, also known as the rosy maple moth

Sunday, April 19, 2020
Bombylius major, also known as the large bee fly

Saturday, April 18, 2020
Phengodes, an extremely interesting genus of beetles

Friday, April 17, 2020
Dicaelus purpuratus, a beetle with a brilliant purple elytra

Thursday, April 16, 2020
Goodyera pubescens, commonly known as "rattlesnake plantain"

Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Beetle grubs, major lawn pests

Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Latrodectus mactans, better known as southern black widow

Monday, April 13, 2020
Tarpela micans, a darkling beetle

Sunday, April 12, 2020
Xylocopa virginica, eastern carpenter bees

Saturday, April 11, 2020
Sanguinaria canadensis, better known as bloodroot

Friday, April 10, 2020
Uvularia sessilifolia, also known as the sessile bellwort or "wild oats"

Thursday, April 9, 2020
Narceus americanus, also known as the American giant millipede or "iron worm"

Wednesday, April 8
Odocoileus virginianus, the white-tailed deer

Tuesday, April 7
Cicindela sexguttata, the six-spotted tiger beetle

Monday, April 6, 2020
Silene virginica, the fire pink

Sunday, April 5, 2020
Cicadas

Saturday, April 4, 2020
Lepomis machrochirus, the bluegill

Friday, April 3, 2020
Tallaperla maria, the common roachfly

Thursday, April 2, 2020
Aquatic snails

Wednesday, April 1, 2020
The bull chub

Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Crayfish, also known as crawfish, crawdads, and mud bugs

Monday, March 30, 2020
Caddisflies, the order Trichoptera

Sunday, March 29, 2020
The larval stage of a Northern red salamander (Psuedotriton ruber ruber)

Saturday, March 28, 2020
Tremella mesenterica, a common jelly fungus also known as yellow brain

Friday, March 27, 2020
The millipede Boraria stricta

Thursday, March 26, 2020
Bark centipede of the genus Scolopocryptops

Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Viola sororia, better known as the common blue violet, wood violet, or wild violet

Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Papilio glaucus, the eastern tiger swallowtail butterfly

Monday, March 23, 2020
Psuedacris crucifer, the spring peeper

Sunday, March 22, 2020
Sciurus niger, the fox squirrel

Saturday, March 21, 2020
The Northern Cardinal

Friday, March 20, 2020
Symplocarpus foetidus, commonly known as skunk cabbage or swamp cabbage

Thursday, March 19, 2020
Psuedotriton ruber ruber, the Northern red salamander

Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Solanum carolinense, better known as the Carolina horsenettle

Tuesday, March 17, 2020
The crane fly


Conopholis americana, also known as cancer root, squaw root, or bear corn
Wednesday, April 22, 2020

Tuesday, April 21, 2020
The eastern newt Notophthalmus viridescens

Tuesday, April 20, 2020
Dryocampa rubicunda, also known as the rosy maple moth

Sunday, April 19, 2020
Bombylius major, also known as the large bee fly

Saturday, April 18, 2020
Phengodes, an extremely interesting genus of beetles

Friday, April 17, 2020
Dicaelus purpuratus, a beetle with a brilliant purple elytra

Thursday, April 16, 2020
Goodyera pubescens, commonly known as "rattlesnake plantain"

Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Beetle grubs, major lawn pests

Tuesday, April 14, 2020
Latrodectus mactans, better known as southern black widow

Monday, April 13, 2020
Tarpela micans, a darkling beetle

Sunday, April 12, 2020
Xylocopa virginica, eastern carpenter bees

Saturday, April 11, 2020
Sanguinaria canadensis, better known as bloodroot

Friday, April 10, 2020
Uvularia sessilifolia, also known as the sessile bellwort or "wild oats"

Thursday, April 9, 2020
Narceus americanus, also known as the American giant millipede or "iron worm"

Wednesday, April 8
Odocoileus virginianus, the white-tailed deer

Tuesday, April 7
Cicindela sexguttata, the six-spotted tiger beetle

Monday, April 6, 2020
Silene virginica, the fire pink

Sunday, April 5, 2020
Cicadas

Saturday, April 4, 2020
Lepomis machrochirus, the bluegill

Friday April 3, 2020
Tallaperla maria, the common roachfly

Thursday, April 2, 2020
Aquatic snails

Wednesday, April 1, 2020
The bull chub

Tuesday, March 31, 2020
Crayfish, also known as crawfish, crawdads, and mud bugs

Monday, March 30, 2020
Caddisflies, the order Trichoptera

Sunday, March 29, 2020
The larval stage of a Northern red salamander (Psuedotriton ruber ruber)

Saturday, March 28, 2020
Tremella mesenterica, a common jelly fungus also known as yellow brain

Friday March 27, 2020
The millipede Boraria stricta

Thursday, March 26, 2020
Bark centipede of the genus Scolopocryptops

Wednesday, March 25, 2020
Viola sororia, better known as the common blue violet, wood violet, or wild violet

Tuesday, March 24, 2020
Papilio glaucus, the eastern tiger swallowtail butterfly

Monday, March 23, 2020
Psuedacris crucifer, the spring peeper

Sunday, March 22, 2020
Sciurus niger, the fox squirrel

Saturday, March 21, 2020
The Northern Cardinal

Friday, March 20, 2020
Symplocarpus foetidus, commonly known as skunk cabbage or swamp cabbage

Thursday, March 19, 2020
Psuedotriton ruber ruber, the Northern red salamander

Wednesday, March 18, 2020
Solanum carolinense, better known as the Carolina horsenettle

Tuesday, March 17, 2020
The crane fly

eVA
Rent the Museum
Education Program Guide