Click here
Calendar of Events Donate Rent the Museum Read our Blog

January 31, 2020

*Please note that the VMNH Foundation Thomas Jefferson Awards ceremony has been postponed indefinitely due to the COVID-19 developments.  We apologize for this inconvenience, but appreciate your understanding.


The Virginia Museum of Natural History has announced the recipients of the 33rd Annual VMNH Foundation Thomas Jefferson Awards.  The VMNH Foundation Thomas Jefferson Awards honor individuals and corporations for outstanding contributions to natural science and natural science education.

A statewide awards ceremony honoring this year's recipients will be held at the museum on Thursday, March 19, 2020 from 6:30 to 7:30 p.m.  A reception will be held prior to the ceremony from 5:30 to 6:30 p.m.  Tickets to the reception and ceremony can be purchased online or by calling 276-634-4162.  Tickets will be sold through Friday, March 6.

The Thomas Jefferson Medal for Outstanding Contributions to Natural Science will be presented to James S. Beard, Ph.D., VMNH Senior Curator of Earth Sciences.  This award is presented to an individual who has consistently made outstanding contributions to natural history in Virginia.

The Thomas Jefferson Medal for Outstanding Contributions to Natural Science Education will be presented to DorothyBelle Poli, Ph.D., Professor, Department of Biology at Roanoke College, and Lisa G. Stoneman, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Education at Roanoke College.  This award is presented to a Virginia educator who has made significant contributions to natural history or natural science education at any academic level.

The Noel T. Boaz Director's Award will be presented to Cynthia Eanes Gray (In Memoriam).  This award is presented to an individual or organization that has made significant contributions, through volunteer efforts or financial support, to enable the museum to be a more successful institution and to secure its future as a great museum benefiting all citizens of the commonwealth of Virginia.  The awardee is selected by the museum's executive director.

The William Barton Rogers Corporate Award will be presented to the National Society of Black Engineers.  This award is presented to an individual who has shown significant support for the natural sciences in Virginia, through contributions to research, science education, or other relevant programs of the Virginia Museum of Natural History.

The 33rd Annual Thomas Jefferson Awards are sponsored by:

W. Bruce Wingo
Education Program Guide
Rent the Museum