Click here
Calendar of Events Donate Rent the Museum Read our Blog

August 27, 2013

Missy Neff GouldThe Board of Trustees of the Virginia Museum of Natural History held its first meeting under the leadership of its new chair, Missy Neff Gould, on Saturday, August 24. Gould, of Danville, began her one-year tenure on May 18 and had previously served as the governor-appointed Board's vice-chairman since Spring 2011. Other officers serving for the 2013-14 term are:

  • Christina S. Draper, vice-chairman, Richmond
  • Dr. Mark A. Crabtree, treasurer, Martinsville
  • Dr. Brian D. Bates, secretary, Dillwyn

Also serving on the 14-member VMNH Board of Trustees are Dr. Mervyn R. King, Martinsville; Lee A. Lester, Martinsville; Monica T. Monday, Martinsville; Sammy Redd, Martinsville; Janet Scheid, Vinton; James W. Severt II, Washington, D.C.; R. Gene Smith, Brookneal; Mary M. Voigt, Barhamsville; Stephen D. Walker, Charlotte Courthouse; and Lisa Lyle Wu, Arlington.

Last year, the Board of Trustees outlined a 2-year strategic vision to guide the museum in extending its impact on citizens across the Commonwealth. During the coming year, the board will be actively pursuing the "A Museum without Walls" plan, which broadens the museum's scope by focusing on a wide variety of educational and scientific outreach programming, as well as traveling exhibits, professional development, publications, and virtual access to reach hundreds of thousands of Virginians each year.

Additionally, the Virginia Museum of Natural History Foundation Board of Directors recently held its first meeting under the leadership of its new president, Stacey Reed. Reed was elected president on July 1 and serves alongside 3 other elected officers. They are:

  • Clay Gravely, vice president, Martinsville
  • Manly Boyd, treasurer, Martinsville
  • J. Smith Chaney, secretary, Martinsville

Additional VMNH Foundation Board members include Gayle Barts, Sutherlin; David Dickerson, Martinsville; James Farrell, Martinsville; Lisa Fultz, Martinsville; Lisa Hall, Martinsville; Barry Jarrett, Martinsville; Judith Matthews, Martinsville; Jeff Perkins, Roanoke; Skip Philips, Martinsville; John Ross, Abingdon; E. Larry Ryder, Martinsville; Jermaine Shelton, Martinsville; Josh Stegall, Martinsville; Kris Willard, Penhook; Bruce Wingo, Richmond; and Ellen Wood, Martinsville.

The Virginia Museum of Natural History Foundation is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that exists to support the mission and programs of the Virginia Museum of Natural History. Proceeds, donations and gifts to the foundation directly benefit the museum's scientific programs, educational programs and exhibits.

Store Teaser